It’s Never Too Late….Right?

If you’re reading this it’s not too late- my poor twisted reference to Drake’s new mix-tape.  To answer, the burning questions I am sure the world has: yes, I am still on my public relations journey and no, I still haven’t landed my dream internships working with Taylor Swift, the Kardashians or the Toronto Maple Leafs.

I am now in my second semester of my corporate communications and public relations program at Centennial College. Second semester means two things- adjusting back from Christmas break and internships.

To start, adjusting back to getting up at 6:30am for school has been horrendous. Is that too harsh? Maybe. But so is waking up before the sun. I’ve realized that waking up does not get any better but the taste of coffee does or in my case the taste of my vanilla bean latte.

I can honestly say January was the most anxiety filled month. I was overwhelmed with internship applications, cover letters and resumes. Centennial required we submit our internship applications to our companies of choice by February 2nd. And instead of grabbing the bull by the horns, I sank deeper into my bed watching the Kardashians.

Fast forward to January 28th– a flow blown meltdown is occurring. My arm is cramping from typing so much, my eyes are red from crying and my mom is trying to comfort my poor broken internship-less soul. Not a good state to be applying to internships in. It was a disaster. I was only applying to places to meet the deadline and get the weight off my shoulders. I do not want anyone to go through what I did so here are some tips on how to avoid an internship meltdown Katie Mott style.

How to avoid my internship meltdown:
1. Apply as soon as possible: This is the best way to manage stress and gives you more options.

2.  Be confident: To quote Dr.Seuss, “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

  1. Proof Read: Not just for spelling errors, but to make sure your cover letter reflects you and the internship position.
  2. Keep applying: What do you have to lose? Nothing! The world is your oyster.

Looking back, I caused myself so much unnecessary stress. Yes, the whole internship process is stressful but it can also be fun. Applying for internships is a chance for you to envision yourself in a variety of different jobs.  Just remember-you can do this and you will do this!

Now I’ll get back to watching the Kardashians…..

Happy Learning!

Katie

Leave a comment