Resume Building YOUR Way

Resume building is something I have personally struggled with. During  university I found I did not have much time to work or build my resume. Once I started at Centennial College I found my classmates were building their resumes their own way. 

What I learned:
1. Volunteer experience is huge: Have you volunteered before? Put it down. It’s just as valuable as job experience.
2. Not Everything Goes: Your resume should not consist of your life history. Put  down your most recent jobs, achievements and volunteer experience. Nix your highschool history.
3.Your Achievements Count: Did you pull off a great fundraising event? Put it down!
4. Let YOUR resume SHOW YOU: One of my classmates has a resume with colours and logos. This lets her personality shine through!

After I put these tips in place:
I found my resume did a 360 when I added my volunteer experience, personalized my resume, and trimmed it down. It reflects who I am now and how I want to be perceived in the pr world. This is key. YOUR resume is a REFLECTION of  YOU.

Here is a sample template:
Sample Resume

Here is the link to this template image:
http://workbloom.com/resume/resume-sample-example-template-image/Marketing%20coordinator%20and%20Marketing%20Assistant1.jpg

Try this resume builder!
http://www.resume-now.com/builder/load.aspx#

And do not forget about this article on how to write a resume fresh out of college:
http://www.forbes.com/sites/susanadams/2012/05/10/how-to-write-a-resume-when-youre-just-out-of-college/

So my question for YOU is would you use these tips? What are your resume tips and tricks? Comment below!

Happy Learning!
Katie

Leave a comment